Georgia Southern, Appalachian State to Join FBS and the Sun Belt


The Sun Belt is adding two new teams in 2015. Georgia Southern and Appalachian State will transition from FCS to FBS.  

The move will give the Sun Belt ten football teams with the plan being adding two more to give the Beast a twelve team configuration and two divisions. Front runners for next two in are New Mexico State and Idaho, WAC cast offs who are wondering the nether regions of college football.  

Here's a kicker, Sun Belt commissioner Karl Benson wants to make sure "the schools in our league make sense geographically and regionally." What  a novel idea for conference expansion. Take notes former Big East Football Conference.   



Posted on March 26, 2013 .